top of page

Switch to latest new Version of onequrann blog ! 


5 Pillars Of Islam

Islam is the religion of Allah and his beloved Prophet Muhammad (ﷺ), which is based on five things,

  • Profession of Faith (shahada)

  • Prayer (salat)

  • Alms (zakat)

  • Fasting (sawm)

  • Pilgrimage (hajj)

Here are the details of all these five pillars of Islam,

The profession of Faith (shahada)

The belief that "There is no god but Allah, and Muhammad (ﷺ) is the Messenger of Allah" is central to Islam. This phrase, written in Arabic, is often prominently featured in architecture and a range of objects, including the Qur'an, Islam's holy book of divine revelations. One becomes a Muslim by reciting this phrase with conviction.

Prayer (salat)

Muslims pray facing Mecca five times a day: at dawn, noon, mid-afternoon, sunset, and after dark. Prayer includes a recitation of the opening chapter (sura) of the Qur'an and is sometimes performed on a small rug or mat used expressly for this purpose. Muslims can pray individually at any location or together in a mosque, where a leader in prayer (imam) guides the congregation. Men gather in the mosque for the noon-day prayer on Friday; women are welcome but not obliged to participate. After the prayer, a sermon focuses on a passage from the Qur'an, followed by prayers by the imam and a discussion of a particular religious topic.

Alms (zakat)

In accordance with Islamic law, Muslims donate a fixed portion of their income to community members in need. Many rulers and wealthy Muslims build mosques, drinking fountains, hospitals, schools, and other institutions both as a religious duty and to secure the blessings associated with a charity.

Fasting (sawm)

During the daylight hours of Ramadan, the ninth month of the Islamic calendar, all healthy adult Muslims are required to abstain from food and drink. Through this temporary deprivation, they renew their awareness of and gratitude for everything God has provided in their lives—including the Qur'an, which was first revealed during this month. During Ramadan, they share the hunger and thirst of the needy as a reminder of the religious duty to help those less fortunate.

Pilgrimage (hajj)

Every Muslim whose health and finances permit it must make at least one visit to the holy city of Makkah, in present-day Saudi Arabia. The Ka'ba, a cubical structure covered in black embroidered hangings, is at the centre of the Haram Mosque in Makkah. Muslims believe that it is the house Abraham (Ibrahim in Arabic) built for Allah, and face in its direction (qibla) when they pray. Since the time of the Prophet Muhammad (ﷺ), believers from all over the world have gathered around the Ka'ba in Makkah on the eighth and twelfth days of the final month of the Islamic calendar.

22 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All

Ramadan is a holy month in the Islamic calendar where Muslims around the world fast from dawn till dusk. It is a month of spiritual reflection, self-discipline, and increased devotion to worship. Duri

bottom of page